After setting up your program, it's time to start inviting members.

Mentorly gives you the key tools to add members to your program and how to best manage their onboarding process.

⭐ For Pro and Enterprise plans with an MSA, we offer a one-hour live demo that helps introduce the platform to your members. Alternatively, we can provide a demo recording instead. Speak with your MSA to find what works best for you.

Let's begin! 🎉


How to invite members to your program

There are two ways you can invite or recruit members to your program.

Manually upload:

This method is ideal if you already have a set list of members you want to have in your mentorship program. You can either add a new member individually, or multiples at a time.

Head over to the Members tab of your Program Dashboard.

To add a new member individually:

Click the + button, enter their name and email. If the member is a mentor, just click the box that says 'Mentor'. Hit save, and send them an invitation email, where they can sign up and start filling out their profile.

Adding multiple members at once:

From the Members tab, click the upload icon (beside the + button). The instructions will prompt you to download our CSV template so you can import multiple users at once.

The most important information required for the CSV template is the member's name, email and if they are a mentor. Once the template has been filled out, you can import it.

If your program is using tags, you can include the tag in this template as well - however, it's important that the tag is created before you upload this list.

After importing the list of members, you'll see (on your Members tab) a notice that you have users pending an invitation. Simply click send invitation emails and you're good to go!


Good to know: By manually uploading your users (either individually or multi-upload), mentors are automatically approved, which means they will be featured on your program's Mentors page once they've completed onboarding. For more information on what this means, continue reading this article!

General sign up:

If you're not sure who you want to take part in your program and want to allow for general sign up, then the good news is that you can!

Anyone visiting your program's landing page will have the option to sign up themselves, either as a mentee or a mentor. Once they sign up, they'll be prompted to follow the onboarding steps - the same as when members are specifically invited.

Good to know: With general sign up, mentors will need to be approved by the Program Manager in order to be visible on the Mentors page. More information about this is provided below!

Good to know: The general sign up page is always available on your landing page to visitors. Please speak with your MSA or Mentorly support team to see about removing it if need be.


Know your limits:

The amount of members you're able to have in your program is designated by the plan you've purchased with Mentorly.

Teams: Up to 100 users

Pro: 100 - 500 users

Enterprise: 500 + users

If you have any questions surrounding your user limits, please don't hesitate to reach out to your dedicated MSA or Mentorly's support team.


Onboarding progress chart:

Once your members have started signing up, you can track their onboarding progress via the Home tab with the Onboarding Progress chart.

Each of these statuses can be considered as steps in a user's mentorship journey in your program. In order to be booked, mentors and mentees must have been invited, signed up and completed their onboarding (fulfilling their profile requirements and answering the matching questionnaire).

Good to know: Your program may not require mentors and mentees to be matched, and that's okay! You can simply disregard that progress bar if this is the case.

Good to know: These progress statuses are also featured on the Members tab, where you can filter by status.

Good to know: These progress statuses are visible to Program Managers only, so members won't be able to see what progress status they are at.


Mentors page:

Along with a landing page, your program also has a Mentors page that is accessible at the top of every member's Personal Dashboard.

This Mentors page is designed to not only display mentors available in your program, but allow mentees and other mentors to browse the available mentors.

As a program manager, you have control over how this page is viewed by the members in your program.

If your program is using matching, and you only want your members to meet with their specific matches, then you may not want mentors to appear on this page.

In order to appear on this page, a Mentor's profile must be marked as Approved. There are two ways this happens:

  • When a mentor is manually uploaded by a Program Manager, they are automatically marked as Approved.

  • When a mentor signs up themselves, they will not be marked as Approved. To do so, you will need to access the mentor's profile via the Members tab, scroll down and click Approved.

Good to know: If they are marked as approved, a mentor must be at the Onboarded status in order to be visible on the Mentors page.

Good to know: You can also choose to Feature mentors. This means they will appear on the landing page of the program itself. This is a great way to showcase a specific group of mentors.


Cohorts and Tags

You may choose to either group or track your members in specific ways, and that's where cohorts and tags come in! Cohorts and Tags can co-exist, and here's how each individually function.

Cohorts:

By its design, a cohort is a private group of members. When in a cohort, a mentee or mentor will only be able to view other mentors of the same cohort on the Mentors page.

Cohorts have a reporting functionality - this means that the Reporting > Activity tab will break down data per cohort. This is great if you want to compare the amount of sign-ups or sessions per cohort.

⭐ If your program is on Teams, you are limited to only 5 cohorts at one time. For Pro and Enterprise plans, you are able to have an unlimited amount of cohorts.

Good to know: A member can only be part of one cohort at a time.

Good to know: A member won't know what cohort they are a part of - this is visible only to the Program Manager.

To create a cohort:

Head over to your Program tab and click Cohorts & Tag. Click on the + button, name your cohort, and you're done!

To add members, go to your Members tab and search for the member you want to be part of the cohort. You can assign the member a cohort at the bottom of their Info tab of their profile.

Tags:

Tags can serve a few different functions for your program. You can use them to label certain members or restrict who they have access to within the program.

While tags don't have a reporting function like cohorts do, members can be part of as many tags as needed.

You have two options when creating a tag: public and filtering.

Public: By making a tag public, this means the name of the tag will appear on the mentor or mentee's profile. This is helpful for when you want to showcase certain members as part of a certain group.

By not making the tag public, you keep this categorization private and the member who is tagged will not know they have this tag.

Filtering: When a tag is filtering, this means you are limiting all those within the tagged group to only see those with the same tag.

If you choose not to filter the tag, it means a member will be part of the tagged group but still have access to those outside of that tag.

To create a tag:

Head to your Members tab and click on Tag groups. Click on + Create Tag Group, enter a name and choose if it should be public and/or filtering, and you're done! Once the tag is created, you can easily add members right away by searching for their name.


What's next?

Check out how to best manage your program once members start engaging in the platform.

Did this answer your question?